>An Introduction

>I am resurrecting this blog as a chronicle of my experiences as a teacher-in-training.  Teaching is perhaps the only subject on which I can write anything meaningful on a regular basis (which I have only now realized after years of blogging drivel in high school and early college!)  I also hope to find others like myself and share the triumphs and tragicomic moments of teaching.  Nancy Sommers puts it best in her essay, “I Stand Here Writing”:

With writing and with teaching, as well as with love, we don’t know how the sentence will begin and, rarely ever, how it will end.  Having the courage to live with uncertainty, ambiguity, even doubt, we can walk into all of those fields of writing, knowing that we will find volumes upon volumes bidding us enter. We need only be inventors, we need only give freely and abundantly to the texts, imagining even as we write that we too will be a source from which other readers can draw sustenance.

The title of this blog comes from a quote by Sydney J. Harris: “The whole purpose of education is to turn mirrors into windows,” and I feel like this captures the purpose of my writing.  My desire is for my reflections to shed light for and on other teachers, students, and anyone who is concerned with children and young people.  I want this to be a conversation, not a monologue, so please feel free to leave any questions, comments, concerns, equipment problems, or issues for the good of the order.

Leave a Reply

