Daily Affirmation

Prayer bead

Be still, and know that I am God.” -Psalm 46:10

We’re doing a 5-week experiment at church wherein we start by taking three minutes a day for a week in each of the following stages: Centering, Thanksgiving, Confession, Asking, and Helping.  (The teacher in me is fighting really hard not to make a cutesy CATCH acronym out of it!)  I am not too proud to admit that my prayer life has historically sucked, and I like the structured approach to easing back into things.  My guess is that eventually I will open up again to more spontaneous and intuitive prayer, but right now I need the training wheels.

I also really like the prayer beads we are making in church.  I’ve noticed that having something tactile to play with typically enhances my concentration (hence the knitting in church for which I was chastised many years ago), perhaps because I am so practiced at inner thought that I need to engage my inferior Sensing function to occupy parts of my brain that would otherwise be bored.  But hopefully this will help me learn to be present and do only one thing at a time.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Daily Affirmation

  1. ragamuffin86 says:

    Let me know how it goes. I understand needing something to play with, for me I can’t pray, read, or do anything like that without music.

    P.S. I like the new wordpress.

  2. Jessica says:

    I’ve noticed a lot of people struggle with the typical prayer stance – eyes closed, hands folded, sitting still. I concentrate better with my eyes open sometimes. One woman I know remembers a sermon better if she’s working on her grocery list at the same time. Whether your prayer is focused or spontaneous, you know what helps you concentrate and I don’t think you have to give up the knitting needles. 🙂

  3. […] with emotional, artistic expressions of faith, whether through videos, music, imagery, or making prayer beads.  It’s been a thoroughly enjoyable experience so far, not only because it lets me flex my […]

Leave a Reply

