Fasting

I’ve reached the point of such physical and spiritual obstruction that…something has to go. When Pastor Zhang prayed with me Thursday night, he shared Isaiah 58:11:

The LORD will guide you always;
he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
like a spring whose waters never fail.

As I read through the rest of the chapter, however, a few verses previous stuck out.

Is this the kind of fast I have chosen,
only a day for people to humble themselves?
Is it only for bowing one’s head like a reed 
   and for lying in sackcloth and ashes?
Is that what you call a fast,
a day acceptable to the LORD?

“Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen:
to loose the chains of injustice
and untie the cords of the yoke,
to set the oppressed free 
   and break every yoke?

I haven’t been taking care of my body for the last, oh, year and a half, and that has definitely affected my emotional and spiritual health as well.  (Plus I’m pretty sure I’m suffering from chronic secondhand smoke exposure from my ashtray of an apartment…never renting after a smoker again, no matter how good a deal.)  So I am following a three-day juice fast starting Wednesday after two days of raw foods Monday and Tuesday.  Those of you who know me well will understand why this is a particularly grueling exercise for me, but I need the detox, I need the centering, and I need the discipline.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

