Past, Present, Future

Reader Jessica asked in a comment on a previous post, “Every time I read your posts about teaching, I wonder if you could see yourself doing anything else?”  I have to say yes, but only because I have a very vivid (and sometimes overly impressionable) imagination.  I can see myself counseling or mentoring in a professional capacity with relative ease.  I can see myself as some sort writer with a not insignificant bit of stretching, but it is not implausible.  I can see myself as an accountant in my worst nightmares.

But I think that at the end of the day, I really only see myself as one other thing in life:

This was my response to a task we will have our students do next week during the Writing and Thinking Workshop.  It’s called a legacy quilt, and on their square students will have three figures, one each representing the student’s past, present, and future selves.

One thought on “Past, Present, Future

  1. Anna says:

    That’s a very clever picture.

Leave a Reply

