Phenomenal Women

It’s pretty obvious I am an NF because I have a hard time blogging just about what’s happening in my life without some sort of lengthy emotional reflection, and so it probably seems like I just sit around marinating in my feelings all the time…which is not altogether untrue, but I’m going to try to be better about posting “normal” entries. (This reminds me of a conversation/debate with Blondie about the continuum of conversation topics that should, theoretically exist between emotional vomit and, say, a discussion of one’s bowel movements.)

When I left school on Friday, I needed grown-up time so badly it wasn’t even funny.  Fortunately, my friend Beth’s bridal shower was that night, and the party brought together nearly all of my favorite people in one place.

First, Sarah (on the left), whom I do not see nearly enough now that she lives and works an hour away.  But we are forever bonded by our love of country music, past relationship woes, and vastly inappropriate sense of humor.  (Apparently I am the extreme on that scale, which I rather heartily protest.)  We spent the evening catching up on our respective lives and recounting previous run-ins with the king of Benin and shofar anointings.

Then there’s Laura (in the middle), who will soon be leaving us for the Philippines to give a year.  At first she may appear innocent and sweet, but beneath the surface lies one saucy little miss.  Must be the red hair.

And Julie (trying to escape my non-telephoto lens).  She is an aspiring teacher, currently subbing, so we traded lots of war stories.  Julie’s unique sense of humor and outrageously contagious laugh is one of the stabilizing forces in my life, so when she spent a year in Tajikistan my world seemed just a little less sunny.

(I just noticed that all three of these amazing ladies (and, indeed) many of my closest friends are in helping professions.  This is most likely neither coincidental nor accidental.)

Finally, there’s Beth, the lady of the hour.  She is the outreach director at our church (another helper, shockingly) and probably an extroverted version of me.  I’ve gotten to know her rather more in the last year or so when I discovered how similar our personalities are, and she’s helped me  feel my feelings without the world ending.  She also shares my love of crafting, books, and nerds, and is dedicated to social justice and community in a way that I admire greatly and wish to emulate.

All my life I have been blessed with a plethora of strong women surrounding me, and that is probably what I missed the most when I was living in Lima.  (And even there God brought me my counterpart to live with then and now!)  Beth looked around at one point and exclaimed, “I can’t believe it’s my turn!”  And I just know that when it’s my turn, these ladies and many others will be there for me.  So to these phenomenal women, I dedicate Maya Angelou’s masterpiece.

Phenomenal Women

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.
Then they swarm around me,
A hive of honey bees.
I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Men themselves have wondered
What they see in me.
They try so much
But they can’t touch
My inner mystery.
When I try to show them
They say they still can’t see.
I say,
It’s in the arch of my back,
The sun of my smile,
The ride of my breasts,
The grace of my style.
I’m a woman

Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need of my care,
‘Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

One thought on “Phenomenal Women

  1. ragamuffin86 says:

    I am an NF as well, so I understand. I like the pictures. But I need you in the future to please suck at something you put your hand to so the rest of us don’t feel so bad.

Leave a Reply

