Spectator Sport

I recently read some maudlin little blurb I-can’t-remember-where about wanting to be the person in the photos instead of just someone looking at others’ photos, and my first thought was, “What about being the person who takes the photos?”  Ever since Nikita’s arrival, I have often said to myself, “Hey, I need to go hang out with people/explore places/do things so that I can take pictures!”  (Not, it should be noted, do people, hang out with places, and explore things…)

While my photography bug generally gets me out and about in a healthy way, I’ve also found a curious detachment that comes with being behind the shutter.  As the photographer, I’m neither participant nor spectator…but I am also both.  Sometimes I have to remind myself to set the camera aside and just be there, but having the camera with me also helps me tap into my Sensing function when I am looking for new angles and details.  (I think field–depth, width, angle, framing–is my primary photographic element.)

All of this is to preface my new experiment.  A colleague last year posited that one can only do about 3 things well at a time, 4 if you’re superhuman.  He gave the example of a period in life when his three things were work, school, and fishing; I decided that I wanted my three to be work, church life, and writing.  The first two are coming along quite swimmingly, but I’ve found myself neglecting the third.  What I have done, however, is take a tremendous amount of photos in the last few weeks, and so I thought about using that as a catalyst for my writing.  A picture is worth a thousand words, after all, right?  So my goal is to post a photo with 200 words 5 times a week, for a total of 1000 words a week.  (Or maybe 100 words 10 times a week?)  Part of the reason I don’t post more often is because once I get started writing, I know it will take me a while to finish, so I tend to not start in the first place.  My pictures tend to be of loved ones and places, so there should be plenty of material to reflect on, because of course that is what I do most often in my writing.

Everything is an experiment, so here we go!

Leave a Reply

