Oh Baby

I don't have any good pictures of teeny-tiny humans, so I am borrowing this one from the very talented Mrs. Cuccarese!

In church today we asked the question, “What does a peasant baby say about the nature of God?”  And in the extended silence that followed, the idea of God as a baby really burrowed deep into my heart.

So many of us, myself included, see God primarily in light of our parent figures.  Which, for me, means I am always trying to impress him with my latest accomplishment, or taking him for granted, or pouting because I haven’t gotten what I want.

But to see God as a baby?  A baby is unjudging, uncorrupted, unconditionally accepting, and wants nothing more than to cuddle and smile and blow raspberries.  (I think this is maybe why I like babies so much.  And they’re pretty stinkin’ cute, of course.)  What if God came as a baby to invite me to approach him as I would a tiny human, with all honesty and no pretensions or aspirations, just a desire to have and to hold and be in communion with him?  Now that would be amazing.

And then we hit the verse in Romans: “For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.” (Romans 8:29)

If God is an implacable parent, then Jesus must be the unattainable sibling ideal, right?  But if God is a baby, he has a smile and gurgle for everyone, not just the rich ones, not just the pretty ones, not just the religious ones.  Can I be like that?  I hope so, and maybe that’s why Jesus came aas a baby in the first place.

One thought on “Oh Baby

  1. Jessica says:

    I love the mental path this started me down. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

